SOU appoints trustees through 2026 – Medford News, Weather, Sports, Breaking News

The new trustees were nominated by the governor and received confirmation from the state senate

Southern Oregon University recently announced the appointment of three new members and a handful of permanent members to its Board of Trustees.

The board is responsible for budgeting, approving curriculum, and hiring and performance evaluation of the SOU president. Board members consist of 11 deputy heads who serve four-year terms, while one position is reserved for one SOU student, one faculty member, and one non-teaching staff member. Rick Bailey, President of SOU, is an ex-officio non-voting member.

Council members are nominated by the Governor of Oregon and confirmed by the State Senate.

The new members are Phoenix-Talent School District Superintendent Brent Barry; Christina Medina, regional sales manager of Pacific Power; and Angrew Gay, Associate SOU Professor and Chair of Communications, Media and Film.

Retired Financial Advisor Lyn Hennion Returns to Serve Additional Terms as Trustees; Bill Thorndike, owner of Medford Fabrication; Sheila Clough, CEO of Mercy Flights; Jonathon Bullock, Executive Director of Redmond Proficiency Academy; Shaun Franks, who works in the renewable energy industry; and Debra Fee Jing Lee, executive director of the Center for NonProfit Legal Services.

The terms of all council members, regardless of the length of their appointment, begin July 1 and end June 30, 2026. Although Gay’s term, by law, is only two years.

Contact journalist Kevin Opsahl at 541-776-4476 or [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @KevJourno.